A blog about what I love….photography and bicycles!

The Kiln Gallery, our first invited guest, Andre de la Rosa

Our first invited artist at The Kiln Gallery is local artist Andre de la Rosa.  Andre will be exhiting ar The Kiln for September 2011.  A little bit about Andre and her art follows….

For as long as I can remember I have had a passion for creating.  As a child, a sketchpad and coloured pencils were a part of my life and I would while away the hours creating my “masterpieces”; and not much has changed since.

 After school I pursued my love by studying Fine Arts at the then Natal Technikon.  However for a number of years my art took a bit of a back seat but when I found myself at home with young children, out came my sketchpads, pencils, canvases, easels and paints.  Before I knew it I was running a successful screen printing business, designing and printing fabrics for the craft industry.  What started out as something to keep me busy at home is still going sixteen years later.

 A few years ago I attended a painting course in Pietermaritzburg where we were taught the Classical painting method.  For me it was like a revelation and I took to it like a duck takes to water.  I also was fortunate to have found a friend and mentor in well-known wildlife artist David Langmead.  His expert guidance from time spent in his studio has assisted me in becoming what I am today.

 Although my subject matter may be diverse, ranging from a marmite jar, a leopard in the tree, a rusty old fence post or a rural scene bathed in the golden rays of dawn, I love to paint it all. I love to see the beauty in the simple things in life, that we so often take for granted or do not even notice. So if you have that special image of the old family homestead, or a favourite view, then let me capture it on canvas and for posterity.

 I invite you to visit my world, whether it is to take in the artwork, buy a painting or discuss a commission piece with me. Or perhaps you would like to sign up for one my art classes, or bring a group of friends for an art express workshop.  I look forward to meeting you in our gallery.

Visit my website www.andresart.co.za

Email me andre@andresart.co.za

033 3303116 / 082 551 4202″

 

 

Leave a Reply

