A blog about what I love….photography and bicycles!

The Kiln Gallery : Fran Simmons profile

Earlier this month I introduced our two invited artists at The Kiln (Andre de la Rosa and Toni le Roux).  Until we announce the next invited artists I am going to post a weekly blog on the permanent exhibitors at The Kiln.  The first person profiled is local studio, family and wedding photographer Fran Simmons.  With Doug Morton, Fran took the initial steps to get The Kiln established and the two of them invited the rest of us to be part of it.  Frans work is unique and the material at The Kiln demonstrates this.

And now, a little about Fran in her own words….

 “I’m a real local girl I was born in Pietermaritzburg but spent most of my life in the Natal Midlands and I now live on a beautiful farm in the Karkloof with my husband Matt and my wonderful busy boys Troy and Rowan.

I have loved photography since I got my first camera many years ago – but for me the most exciting thing was getting my first digital camera. A whole new world opened up for me! I think photography is definitely my way of expressing my artistic side and I love to use it as a magic wand to capture the beauty in very simple things and record my objects, as honestly as possible that’s why I so enjoy still life photography,

Portraiture and family photography is also so close to my heart because I can’t believe the speed in which little ones grow and I feel all photographs are there to remind us of what we forget.

 I have a studio at my home on the farm and I do my utmost to keep the studio sessions so relaxing and enjoyable for every one we take  comfort breaks as and when we need them. I think what is just so special too in taking photos of people, is in the short time you spend with them you form a bound  and when they finish their session you feel as though you have known them forever.

 Find me on facebook  (Fran Simmons Photography) or have a look at my web site www.fransimmons.co.za

 Tel: 033 3306036 / 083 943 8430”

Finally some examples of Frans work.  For more please see her web site or her album on The Kiln facebook page http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Kiln-Gallery/192143797488771?ref=hnav (oh, and while there Like Us, and you will be kept up to date with all the happenings)

Leave a Reply

