A blog about what I love….photography and bicycles!

Macro Photography Tips Part 1 (continued)

Herewith the photos that I promised last week.  Varying f stops and the dof.  Note that the flower is approximately 7 cm from the leaves behind.  Lower f stop makes the dof shallower and the image pop more with a less busy background.  I know which one I like!!!……f5.6 ?

 and now, a few photographs taken this weekend……………………….

Weevil

Painted reed frog

Macro of the center of a Geranium flower

Dietes bicolor

6 responses

  1. Doug Morton

    Great info, Simon, particularly where one is working in a studio environment and has the time and opportunity to assess and even measure distances. I’ve become addicted to using the DOF preview available on just about all SLR cameras. Once you get used to taking a look it becomes second nature. The only drawback is that if you’re stopping right down to f22 and beyond, the image becomes very dark and it’s not always possible to see what’s sharp and what isn’t. Great info and thanks. Doug.

    November 6, 2010 at 7:59 pm

  2. Glad to assist Doug, have a good one

    S

    November 6, 2010 at 8:26 pm

  3. Good work Simon, a lot of people ask questions about the effect of aperture – I can now refer them to your blog.

    November 11, 2010 at 8:30 pm

  4. Simon

    Thanks Bennie,

    Please get anyone interested to visit the blog. I am hoping to have people contribute and question so that others can answer and we can all learn. Hope to post some more insect photos after my trip to Mooi River this weekend (weather permitting). Have a look next week.

    Regards

    November 12, 2010 at 8:16 am

  5. I have a problem with the overall premise of your article but I still think its really informative. I really like your other posts. Keep up the great work. If you can add more video and pictures can be much better. Because they help much clear understanding. 🙂 thanks Randygroth.

    November 20, 2010 at 7:03 am

    • Randy,

      Firstly, thanks for the visit. I am glad that you like the pics and the little write ups. I am trying to communicate a few tricks to local friends who are into macro and there seems to be this misunderstanding dof when you get up close with things. If I am unclear in my writing then please ask and I will happily elaborate. As usual it is obvious to the author but less so to the reader. The basics of the article is that you can present a very good picture simply by using the correct f stop. People think that DOF must be pushed to the max in macro, in some cases this is true but I think the photos demonstrated that a lower f stop can also be very useful.

      Hope to hear from you again. Please check out the web site and also get others to read this blog and add to it.

      Regards and have a great day.

      Simon

      November 20, 2010 at 11:01 am

Leave a Reply

