A blog about what I love….photography and bicycles!

A day in the Kranskloof Nature Reserve (Part 1)

Three weeks ago Steve Woohall, Chairman of the Lepidopterists Society of Africa (www.lepsoc.org.za), organised a day trip to the Kranskloof Nature Reserve in Durban.  He invited me along.  I have to say that I have always been someone who would rather fly solo, I love being around people but when it comes to working on butterflies I prefer to work alone.  I agreed to attend.  I got to Kranskloof early and, on arriving at the car park, noticed that there were a load of folks there already.  I recognised a few people (some work colleagues, others butterfly mates) and started chatting with them and new folks.  I met Ryan Edwards, one of our environmental lads who had recently moved to our PMB office and is a very keen and talented photographer, Kevin Cockburn, Greytown based Lepsoc seniority very keen and knowledgable butterflier and super bloke to spend “bush time” with, Rob Dickinson, a very interesting and interested bloke who travels Africa in his professional capacity and has a very keen interest in all things small (have to add great company and no slouch with the camera!!), Steve Woodhall, “nuff said”, and a large group of interested and interesting people.

I made it known that I had little time on the day (as I had to study etc) and Steve graciously suggested that I walk ahead and do what I had to.  We all drove to a lower car park and while waiting Rob D suggested that he and I move down to a nearby stream to look for damselflies.  He noted that he has done very well there recently.  If he had done better than we did in the 10 minuted that we were there then well done Rob.  It was very rewarding with many damselflies being photographed.

After a brief period photographing the damsels we had to move off to the real focus, Charaxes karkloof karkloof, the Karkloof Charaxes.  My old mate Wolter Kaspers had found them in the area 20 years ago and I had found them there regularly, most recently two years ago with Steve and Co.

This first part of the blog covers the walk to the Ch karkloof spot.  The walk is short and very quick through typical coastal bush.  Here are a few butterfly photos………

Pseudagrion hageni, Hagens Sprite.  Photographed with Rob Dickinson at the Kranskloof Nature Reserve.

Chilades trochylus, the Grass Jewel, a very pretty little Lyceanid.

Hypolyceana philippus philippus, the Purple-brown Hairstreak.  Rather lovely!

Euchrysops barkeri, Barkers Smokey Blue.

Colotes erone, The Coastal Purple Tip, Male.  This has to be one of my favourite “Tips”

Colotes erone, The Coastal Purple Tip, female, feeding on Leonotis sp

Colotes erone, The Coastal Purple Tip, female

The next part………………part 2 covering larvae, Charaxes and things will be posted shortly.

9 responses

  1. Nice series of photos..

    April 15, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    • thanks, very glad that you like them. Watch for the second part, what we were really looking for.

      April 15, 2012 at 9:23 pm

      • Looking forward 🙂

        April 15, 2012 at 9:26 pm

  2. Great photos and i really like the theme of your blog. i too have a fascination with macro-photography, especially when capturing bugs and small critters.

    April 15, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    • thanks for the read and comments, where can I see some of your photos? I am always keen to see the little things from other parts of the planet.

      April 16, 2012 at 7:50 am

  3. cheryl

    Simon, your photos are amazing. Thank you so much for sharing.

    April 17, 2012 at 11:22 am

  4. Margaret Hardaker

    Awesome pictures Simon!!!

    April 17, 2012 at 9:10 pm

    • Thanks Margaret, very glad that you like them. Please subscribe to the blog and you will get all….regards

      S

      PS, thanks for the work that you and your husband are doing, it brings a smile to my face…S

      April 17, 2012 at 9:53 pm

Leave a Reply

